OMG Cakery!

OMG Factory is now OMG Cakery! Please visit me on Facebook, and my website will be complete soon at www.omg-cakery.com! Thanks for visiting my blog!

Hermes Birkin Bag Purse … Cake! April 1, 2010


I am soo happy with how this cake turned out! I made this cake for my best friends birthday. She loves purses and collects them so I thought it would be perfect to make her a purse cake for her birthday! So I did some research online for an expensive hard to get purse and found the Hermes Birkin Bag.

Her favorite color is purple so that was a given for the purse color. For some reason though I couldn’t get the exact color of the cake when I was taking pics of it =/. Anyway, the cake itself was chocolate fudge with chocolate buttercream frosting, all home made. I made the base like a sheet cake but laid white marshmallow fondant and formed it to look like a piece of silk cloth. I painted it with Wilton white shimmer dust to give it that silk sheen.

Now for the purse itself. A few days before her bday I premade the fondant and made all of the intricate pieces to let them dry out for a few days like the buckle, straps, lock, handles, tag  and the chord holding the lock. Then I layered and cut the cake to shape and frosted it. I measured the cake, rolled out my purple fondant and cut it to size and molded it over the cake. (There’s too many details to go into this so I’m making it brief) Then I used a Wilton rolling teeth tool to make all of the stitches. I stuck the handles on using toothpicks and purple buttercream as glue. Then I dusted Wilton lavendar shimmer dust on the purse and added the rest of the details… ans viola! A Hermes Birkin-Bag Purse Cake! My BFF loved it so much she couldn’t get herself to eat it, so we ate the base instead. ;D

 

One Response to “Hermes Birkin Bag Purse … Cake!”

  1. Catherine Walters Says:

    OMG!!!!!!!! That is INCREDIBLE!!!!!!!!!


Leave a comment